Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated

Minda Andrén​, Zuzanna Czebatul, Karoline Dausien, Pablo Ehmer, Justin Fitzpatrick, Sophie Gogl, Megan Rooney, Chloe Seibert, Tamuna Sirbiladze, Sofia Stevi, Urara Tsuchiya, Alison Veit

18. Mai — 18. Juni 2017

Mein Körper bewegt sich durch einen Raum, der weder privat noch öffentlich ist, sondern durchflutet von Zeichen, die durch ihre endlose Zirkulation entleert wurden: exzessiv, obszön, gleich pornografischen Nahaufnahmen.

Es ist die Obszönität dessen, was nicht mehr versteckt, sondern unweigerlich sichtbar ist. Ein Ende des Innenlebens; die Überbelichtung und Transparenz der Welt durchläuft meinen Körper ohne Hindernis. Ich kann die Grenzen meinen Daseins nicht mehr ziehen, kann mich nicht mehr selbst spielen oder inszenieren.

(nach Jean Baudrillard, The Ecstasy of Communication)


"Amazing girls / It’s complicated" ​inszeniert eine gegenwärtige Topographie privater und öffentlicher Räume die, von allgegenwärtigen Kommunikationsvorgängen durchdrungen, in ständige Sichtbarkeit zusammengefallen ist.

Die Arbeiten erwecken Intimität und sogar Häusliches, das jedoch von scheinbar Obszönem, Eigenartigem, Hässlichem oder gar Bedrohlichem gestört wird und so ein Gefühl des Unbehagens angesichts grenzenloser Veräußerung und Selbst-Designs verbreitet. Vor den Augen des ständig gegenwärtigen Anderen, laden sie in eine fast theatralische Performance ein, die von psychologischen und physischen Brüchen des Körpers, seinerseits nun Träger aller Bedeutung, erzählt. Nichts ist mehr verhüllt und das ganze Universum von Zeichen durchschreitet ihn ohne Grenzen.

Mit ihrer exzessiven Schönheit, Materialität und Semantik kokettieren und verführen die Arbeiten und erinnern daran, dass der Körper in einem Fluss von Begehren und Macht eingebettet ist, welcher Unsicherheit, Ängste und Genuss zugleich produziert. "Amazing girls / It’s complicated" legt nahe, dass die Beziehung zwischen dem Körper und der Gesellschaft eine zunehmlich erotische ist, Begehren jedoch in unaufhörlichen Kreisen der Produktion und des Konsums gleichzeitig direkt zu befriedigen scheint und immer unerfüllt bleibt.

Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated

Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated

Minda Andrén​, Zuzanna Czebatul, Karoline Dausien, Pablo Ehmer, Justin Fitzpatrick, Sophie Gogl, Megan Rooney, Chloe Seibert, Tamuna Sirbiladze, Sofia Stevi, Urara Tsuchiya, Alison Veit

May 18 — Jun 18, 2017

My body moves through spaces, not private or public, but flushed with surges of signs emptied out in their infinite circulation: excessive, obscene, like pornographic close-ups.

It is the obscenity of what no longer is obscure but inevitably visible. An end of interiority, the overexposure and transparence of the world traverses my body without obstacle. I can no longer produce the limits of my own being, can no longer play or stage myself.

(after Jean Baudrillard, The Ecstasy of Communication)


"Amazing girls / It’s complicated" imagines a contemporary topography of private and public spaces staged as spheres that, being permeated by pervasive acts of communication, have collapsed into perpetual visibility.

Suggesting intimacy and domesticity, unsettled by the seemingly obscene, strange, ugly or even threatening, the works gathered disseminate a feeling of unease in the face of boundless externalization and self-design. In front of the gaze of the eternally present other, they invite into an almost theatrical performance: of fractions in the psychology and physiognomy of the body as it has become the bearer of all meaning, where nothing is hidden and the universe of signs surpasses it without limits.

Coquetting and seducing with their excessive beauty, materiality and semantics, the works remind of the body as performing and coming into existence in a flux of desire and power, increasingly caught up in uncertainty, anxiety, and pleasure alike. "Amazing girls / It’s complicated" proposes the relationship of the body to society as an erotic one, where desire however, captured in infinite production and consumption cycles, is both instantly gratified and eternally unfulfilled.

Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated
Amazing Girls / It’s Complicated