Offene Lesegruppe: Bite Hard

28. September 2021, 19–21 Uhr

Offene Lesegruppe: Bite Hard

Wir freuen uns, im Rahmen unserer aktuellen Ausstellung I wear my wounds on my tongue von Tarek Lakhrissi, zu einer offenen Lesegruppe einzuladen. Die Ausstellung I wear my wounds on my tongue verbindet Skulptur, neue und bereits bestehende Videoarbeiten, sprachliche Poesie, Erotik und die Schaffung nicht-heterogener Gegenräume.

Auf den Wunsch des Künstlers hin, der sowohl als Lehrender als auch im Bereich der Performance tätig ist, soll die Lesegruppe dazu dienen, nicht-hierarchische, informelle und alternative Räume der Wissensproduktion und sozialen Zusammenkunft kollektiv zu erproben und sich so womöglich gemeinsam auf transformative Narrative einzulassen.

Gelesen werden Auszüge aus dem lyrischen Werk Bite Hard (1997) des Malaysisch-Amerikanischen Autors Justin Chin (1969-2015), der von 1991 bis zu seinem Tod in San Francisco lebte. In seinem Werk hinterfragte er die persönlichen und politischen Umstände der Kategorien von queerer Identität.

Der Künstler wird nicht anwesend sein.

Wir bitten um Anmeldung unter office@kevinspace.org

Offene Lesegruppe: Bite Hard
Offene Lesegruppe: Bite Hard
Offene Lesegruppe: Bite Hard

Tarek Lakhrissi

Open Reading Group: Bite Hard

Sept 28, 2021, 7–9pm

Open Reading Group: Bite Hard

We are pleased to invite you to an open reading group as part of our current exhibition I wear my wounds on my tongue by poet and artist Tarek Lakhrissi. I wear my wounds on my tongue is a newly conceived installation that interweaves sculpture, new and existing video works, poetics of language, eroticism, and the creation of counter-spaces.

In response to Lakhrissi's aspiration, whose practice extends both into performance as well as teaching, the reading group will serve to collectively explore non-hierarchical, informal and alternative (educational) spaces and social gathering as well as the potential to jointly engage in transformative narratives.

Readings will include excerpts from the poetry book Bite Hard (1997) by Malaysian-American author Justin Chin (1969-2015). Justin Chin lived in San Francisco from 1991 until his death. His work frequently questioned the personal and political circumstances of the category of queer identity.

The artist will not be present.

Please RSVP at office@kevinspace.org