A Strange Encounter / Hey you (2)

mit Lydia Ourahmane

16. Juli 2017, 19 Uhr

Lydia Ourahmane: common id

Performt von Lias Kaci Saoudi
Chello: Hans Wagner


common id ist ein gewaltiger, raumfüllender Chor aus Klängen und Stimmen - gesprochen als Kommentar gegen die geläufige Vernunft, das Gelehrte und Gewohnheitsmäßige. Die zentrale Figur transportiert antagonistische Stimmen und Charaktere, die aus der zeitgenössischen Landschaft sozialer Konflikte hervorgehen.

Der Protagonist bewegt sich zögernd durch den Raum, während eine Meinungsverschiedenheit in Call and Response ausgetragen wird, eingeleitet durch ein von Ourahmane in Sidi El Houari, Oran, Algerien aufgenommenes Medahat-Lied – eine traditionell von Sängerinnen in einem für Männer unverständlichen Code gesungenen Volksmusik. Das Cello verhält sich wie ein Gespräch zwischen zwei Positionen des Bewusstseins und wie ein Zeuge am Tatort.

In gesangsähnlichen Reden trägt der Performer das konfliktreiche Szenario eines Tatorts, seines Zeugen, seines Opfers, seines Täters und seines Rechtssystems. In unausgesprochenen Gesetzen positioniert, die in die individuelle und kollektive Mentalität eingeschrieben sind, stellt sie eine mündliche Geschichte nach, die mit Anklage, den Ruf nach Reinigung, verschlucktem Widerstand und endgültiger Akzeptanz konfrontiert ist.


Lydia Ourahmane (geb. 1992 in Saïda, Algerien) lebt in London und arbeitet zwischen Großbritannien und Algerien. Sie studierte an der Goldsmiths University of London und ihre künstlerische Praxis umfasst neue Medien, Video, öffentliche Interventionen, Performance, Skulptur sowie gefundene Objekte. Ourahmanes Arbeiten untersuchen komplexe soziale und politische Strukturen, interne und externe Kräfte, welche die individuelle Existenz bestimmen, kollektive Zukunft und Handlungsfähigkeit formen und oft in Frustration, Desillusion und dem Ausdruck von Nationalität vor dem Kontext des zeitgenössischen, postkolonialen Algerien, wurzeln.

Ourahmane präsentiere ihre Arbeiten unter anderem bei Bloomberg New Contemporaries 2014 am Institute of Contemporary Arts, London und World Museum, Liverpool; John Jones Project Space, London; Delfina Foundation, London; Ellis King Gallery, Dublin, sowie in den Gruppenausstellungen “Territoires Arabes” im Constantine Capital of Arab Culture 2015, und “Natural Instincts” im Espace Arlaud in Lausanne (kuratiert von Samuel Leuenberger). 2017 ist sie Teil der 15. Istanbul Biennale “A Good Neighbour” (kuratiert von Elmgreen and Dragset) und präsentiert eine Einzelausstellung bei Chisenhale Gallery, London.

Der britisch/algerische Lias Saoudi (geb.1986, Southampton, UK) ist der Frontsinger von Fat White Family (FWF), die 2011 gegründet wurde. Er ist in Schottland und Nordirland aufgewachsen, bevor er an Londons Slade School of Fine Art studierte. Er ist für seine zutiefst persönlichen, manischen Performances bekannt, die in seiner Hingabe für die Intensität totalen Ausdrucks, Skeptizismus und linken Politik begründet liegen.

A Strange Encounter / Hey you (2)
A Strange Encounter / Hey you (2)
A Strange Encounter / Hey you (2)
A Strange Encounter / Hey you (2)
A Strange Encounter / Hey you (2)
A Strange Encounter / Hey you (2)
A Strange Encounter / Hey you (2)
A Strange Encounter / Hey you (2)
A Strange Encounter / Hey you (2)
A Strange Encounter / Hey you (2)
A Strange Encounter / Hey you (2)
A Strange Encounter / Hey you (2)
A Strange Encounter / Hey you (2)
A Strange Encounter / Hey you (2)

A Strange Encounter / Hey you (2)

with Lydia Ourahmane

July 16, 2017

LYDIA OURAHMANE
common id
16 July 2017, 7–9 pm

common id is a stark chorus of sound and voices filling the space, spoken as a commentary against common reason, the taught and the habitual. The central figure, transports antagonistic voices and characters, that emerge from contemporary landscapes of social conflict.

The protagonist moves through space, reluctantly, as a disagreement is acted out in call and response, introduced by a Medahat song – the folk music sung traditionally by female singers in a code that men could not understand – recorded by Ourahmane in Sidi El Houari, Oran, Algeria. The cello behaves as a conversation between two positions of consciousness, a witness at the scene of a crime.

The performer in chant like speeches, carries the conflictual scenario of a scene of crime, its witness, its victim, its offender, and its system of justice. Positioned within unspoken laws that are inscribed in the individual and collective mindset, she re-enacts an oral history which is confronted by accusation, a call for cleansing, swallowed resistance and final acceptance.

Lydia Ourahmane (b. 1992 Saïda, Algeria) lives in London and works between the UK and Algeria. She graduated from Goldsmiths, University of London and her artistic practice spans new media, video, public interventions, lecture-performance, sculptures and found objects. Ourahmane’s work explores complex social and political structures, internal and external forces that govern one’s existence and which shapes collective futures and agencies, often stemming from frustrations, disillusion, the expression of nationality in the context of contemporary, postcolonial Algeria.

Ourahmane has presented works at Bloomberg New Contemporaries 2014 at the Institute of Contemporary Arts, London and World Museum, Liverpool; John Jones Project Space, London; Delfina Foundation, London; Ellis King Gallery, Dublin among others. Her work was included in the group exhibition “Territoires Arabes” at Constantine Capital of Arab Culture 2015 and “Natural Instincts” at the Espace Arlaud in Lausanne (curated by Samuel Leuenberger). In 2017 she will participate in the 15th Istanbul Biennial, “A Good Neighbour” (curated by Elmgreen and Dragset) and present a solo exhibition in 2018 at Chisenhale Gallery London.

British/Algerian Lias Saoudi (b.1986, Southampton, UK) is lead singer Fat White Family (FWF) formed in 2011. He grew up across Scotland and Northern Ireland before studying at London’s Slade School of Fine Art. He is renowned for his deeply personal, manic performances built on his utter commitment to the intensity of total expression, scepticism and hard-left politics.

with Lydia Ourahmane
with Lydia Ourahmane
with Lydia Ourahmane
with Lydia Ourahmane
with Lydia Ourahmane
with Lydia Ourahmane
with Lydia Ourahmane
with Lydia Ourahmane
with Lydia Ourahmane
with Lydia Ourahmane
with Lydia Ourahmane
with Lydia Ourahmane
with Lydia Ourahmane
with Lydia Ourahmane
with Lydia Ourahmane
with Lydia Ourahmane
with Lydia Ourahmane
with Lydia Ourahmane